What is Astrology

A Sanskrit word for astrology is ‘Jyotishyam’. One meaning of this word is “astronomical”, and in its literal sense, it means “astrologer” and another meaning “light-hearted”. There are six vedangas. They are Shiksha, Vyakarana, Jyothisya, Chandassu, Nitruktha, and Kalpa. Astrology ( Jyothisya ) is considered as ‘Eye’ of Vedas. In the available verse of the Vedic astrology, the topics related to sun-moon movement and periodic changes are discussed. During the recording of Vedas, there was a great deal of astrology in determining the days of Yajnasanta, moment and momentum. Note that at that time astronomy and astrology were identical.

Currently, the knowledge and method of determining the future direction of the questioner using a variety of methods, such as the birth date and place of birth of the questioner, determines the position of the planets in the space of the planet, or the position of the planets during the questioning, or the use of different methods of handwriting, body identification etc. are called Astrology. Again, a division of astrology is also used to predict country, state, city, village etc. and natural events such as rain, extreme rainfall, drought, earthquake, storm, epidemic or flood.

Classification of Astrology

  • Tantra Jyotish or Jyotirbiggyan
  • Jyotish Sanghita
  • Hora Jyotish

Tantra Jyotish has 2 classifications

    1. Gol
    2. Gonit

Jyotish Sanghita has a various classification, as Nimitya Gonona, Rashtriya Jyotish, Vastu Vidya etc.
Hora Jyotish has 3 classifications, those are Jatok, Prosno, and Muhurto.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *